Punctured Toyo Proxes 4

Tango

The nearside front tyre on my IS200 Sport was flat as a pancake (only at the bottom though :crying_anim: ). Had the wheel off and found the leak with soapy water, also found a fragment of glass in the rubber. The tyres have only done around 4K miles since Blackboots fitted the set, so as the puncture was nowhere near the sidewall I thought a plug repair may be viable.

Unfortunately the only place open locally on Sunday was Krapfit and having (reluctantly) requested a repair was told by them in no uncertain terms that I needed a new tyre which they could order for me, as a repair to a tyre punctured by glass would be an unsafe repair!!! Allegedly the glass could have 'moved to other areas in the tyre'.

Not being convinced, I put the wheel and tyre back in the boot of the IS250 and left.

Anyone got any comment?

Unless the puncture is of a size and shape unsuitable for a plug, then they are talking BS IMO (tho I'm no expert obviously).

If the glass could have moved to other areas of the tyre, a thorough inspection of the inner & outer serfaces of the tyre would

reval any issues. Am I alone in thinking the guy was using an excuse to get a new tyre sold ? Maybe he is even told to try to do

that very thing, rather than do a perfectly safe repair on a still useable tyre ?

A question to Tony regarding this guys motives, would his company make more profit on a new tyre/fit/valve/balance or just a repair ?

If the margin is much higher on a new tyre, it does point to profiteering by either the fitter, depo manager, or company as a whole.....

It was a ten mile drive to Formula One Autocentre in Gloucester, but an hour or two later the puncture was repaired, a new valve inserted, wheel balanced and back on the car. B) It was more of a small 'puncture' than a cut, so reamed it and plugged it without a problem.