IS300 Geometry

Tango

Tony...Guy on the US LOC forum complained about handling and tyre wear on his IS300 and got this reply:

As long as the alignment is within specs...you WILL get inside tread wear. That IS normal for the handling characteristics of the car. As the tech said, there are no camber plates available. Just be VERY sure that the car has not been wrecked and the tech aligns to SPEC! The toe setting on front & back is also very critical to premature tire wear...go to well know & GOOD alignment shop known for good & honest alignments & watch from a little distance ...some tech that are jerks will lean / hang on car to make the spec "appear correct" on your "printout sheet that they SHOULD give you for your records...they are lazy & either don't feel like doing it right or don't know how...I was a GM Tech for 18 years & Lexus tech for 3..so I DO KNOW the tricks! LOL! Just be aware that no matter what ..inside, front tire wear is to be expected. It SHOULD NOT be to bad though. Make sure to rotate your tires front to back & back to front about every 7,000 liles or so. You SHOULD be able to get pretty good mileage from GOOD quality tires & stock rims....or rims with the same "offset" as original. I think I put 28k on mine first ones. The Goodyear Eagle GSD-3 is a GREAT tire on the IS! Having had mine for over 6.5 years...I have see, read & tried many tire. A 225/45/17 is a perfect size. Even the 215/40or45/17 is as good. AIR PRESSURE is also critical! 33lbs!

I was going to put him (the original guy who cried for help, not the one that posted the above), in contact with you, but thought I'd leave the decision to you :D ..especially after reading the other post :D Perhaps there's an opportunity to market your settings in the USA...they obviously haven't got there yet.

http://us.lexusownersclub.com/forums/index...c=37724&hl=

Tony...Guy on the US LOC forum complained about handling and tyre wear on his IS300 and got this reply: