Setback question

Lovejoy

Not the usual sort of vehicle you deal with but had the tracking set on my Frontera by a local company. They have a John Bean set up which is a good unit but the printout shows setback of:

Setback Front: -23mm

Setback Rear: -25mm

Wheelbase difference: 2mm

Now with that amount of setback the N/S wheels should be visibly different in the arches to the O/S. I would expect the wheelbase to be different by a large amount if there was anything bent to that extent as well.

The car drives ok, seems more responsive since the tracking adjusted as well and doesn't pull. The thrust angle is listed as -0 degrees 7 minutes.

What I'm wondering is how the setback is measured and how can it be nearly an inch out without noticing anything obvious.

The steering wheel sits at about 20 past 10 when travelling straight but other than that it seems reasonable for the type of vehicle. I am a retired mechanic so do understand a bit about geometry and cars in general and there is no sign of damage or excessive wear anywhere. I put four new balljoints on it and had it MOT'd before the alignment.

I used a system called optoflex when I was working in the trade; huge projectors attached to the wheels, mirrors, crosshairs and sliding boards! The new systems are far more advanced but I don't understand it all so any clarification would be great.

Frontera Sport (swb)

Coil rear suspension

16 inch wheels.

Print out:

Fronteraalignmentedited.jpg

Hello

Setback is used for diagnostics and axle/ drive alignment. Typically they didn't measure the castor angle, which is adjustable on your vehicle, had they done so we would probably find the cross castor is wrong. In the event the castor was a fixed angle, setback would show if the reason is in the sprung or unsprung chassis.

Thanks Tony.

So if the castor is wrong that would give the setback (reading) difference? or will knowing the castor angles indicate whether it is a sprung or unsprung problem?