Eunos Roadster Mk1

Steve_N

I'm after some advice/settings for my Mk1 Roadster. I'm hoping to get the car handling as described below so any experience or suggestions welcome.

It's sitting on Mazdaspeed suspension, which is lower than standard. At the moment it tends to bump wide on tighter turns and it just doesn't turn in like it should, too much toe in? I don't know what as I'm no expert but I also noticed what I think are the castor bolts set at opposite ends of the scale. It did have PAS but the pump was not included in the belt when the SC was installed. Obviously the steering is heavy when parking but I feel it is too heavy when driving too, is that caused by alignment? It's a mess!

What I want from the car is very keen turn in, a smidge of understeer at the limit on faster turns to be on the safe side but easily switched to neutral/oversteer on demand (lift off/more throttle). Overall I want a fairly neutral balance with oversteer on demand and a small safety margin of understeer for the road. Does that sound possible?

The majority of it's life will be on road but I do plan on tracking it when funds allow.

I'm thinking camber somewhere between 1-2 degrees and with slightly more on the rear. As for the rest I have no idea!

TIA.

Steve

:oneeyed02:

Issue number one is the position of the castor bolts.... If they are set in opposite positions then the front cross member is off-line.

To compensate for this one wheel is moved forward and one back. It's probable the end result is that the current castor positions are low.

Consequently corner on the relationship with the castor and the camber is low...... Fundamentally the inner wheel is to high and set back during the castor sweep generating a under-steer feel on the apex.

It reads like bad news...... But it's possible to force over-steer despite the cross member position "but" this is an aggressive move and not without consequence.... Mainly tyre wear and heavy steering.