Mondeo 2.0 (2001) pulling to left

Hello, I'm totally new here and ignorant as sin about most things to do with cars. But I'm about to lay out over £4K on a Mondeo 2.0 Zetec (late 2001) and have suddenly got the shakes about the marked pull to the left I noticed on the test drive. It seemed ok otherwise, but I couldn't find any bumps to check for knocks or any other clues. It's done 43,000 miles.

The dealer said it was just down to tyre pressure and that he'll have it sorted for when I pick up the car next week. But I've heard this problem can be down to the rear subframe bushes and/or wishbone, and this seems to be confirmed by what I've read on this forum.

Can you tell just with a visual check (without the car on a jack or ramp) if the bushes or wishbone are shot? I've heard that it will set me back around £350 to get the bushes changed (I'm not a mechanic). No idea what the wishbone would cost.

I'd like to go armed with a bit of knowledge in case I have to ask for a reduction to fix something. Failing that I suppose I can press for him to honour the warranty if I find anything when I service it, or just take back my deposit and walk. Don't want to do that though.

I'd be grateful for any advice.

Cheers

Hello and welcome to wim. You issue is hard to define without any history.. There are so many reasons why a car can pull this thread could go on forever..

Is it not reasonable for you to tell them you are interested in the car if they can stop the pull? I must say that 99% of pulls are pnuematic... Simply moving the front wheels side to side has a high probability of solving the pull.

• 4 weeks later...

Hello Tony. Thanks for the welcome - should have got back to you earlier but have been run off my feet with one thing and another and haven't had a chance to pay much attention.