BMW's and their cracked wheels

Tony

Seen this many times in wim

post-2-1259484995.jpg

The BMW wheel fitted with a Run-Flat-Tyre (RFT), I've always been convinced they crack thanks to the fact the tyre is unable to absorb road shocks but something has been niggling me and that's the fact the wheels don't flat-spot, like this>

post-2-1259485261.jpg

Myself not being a structural engineer leaves me unable to explain why the wheels really crack although i'm still convinced it's due to the tyres.

No doubt you have seen this Tony:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/watchdog/2009/1...loy_wheels.html

It's interesting after pressure they no longer sell the 19 inch wheels until it's been investigated. It's not potholes but either tyre or wheel. Presumably runflats have hard side walls hence your idea of the tyres?

That's quite an interesting link, I had no idea the 19" wheels were banned at the mo, but you can still buy cars with 19s on? Or are those different wheels?

I'm no engineer or anything, but my thinking was that it was the runflats that made the wheel crack rather than bend. With a traditional tyre, the flexing of the tyre absorbs some of the force, and pushes the remainder through to the wheel which gets applied progressively.

With a run flat, the stiffness of the tyre absorbs almost none of the force, and just allows it to pass straight through the tyre and effectively "punch" the wheel rim with one sharp full impact force and that's what makes it crack rather than bend.

I'm not sure how much sense that makes, but it makes sense in my head :lol:

Works for me...... Our machine that fits RFT's runs at 3.5 tons of pressure so these tyres are mighty stiff but i still wonder why it's just the rears and why the rims don't flat-spot.